About the McLean County Hazard Mitigation Plan

Hazard Mitigation Plans are required under the Stafford Act of 2001. These plans assess the likelihood that a natural hazard or a technological/human-caused hazard will occur and formulate how our communities can better prepare through projects and strategies. Most importantly, a Hazard Mitigation Plan makes a community eligible for FEMA funding for projects before and following a disaster.

The Cities of Benedict, Butte, Coleharbor, Garrison, Max, Mercer, Riverdale, Ruso, Turtle Lake, Underwood, Washburn, Wilton and the unincorporated areas of the county are included.

The "McLean County Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan", an update of the 2015 plan, is being developed now. It will address the county's experience with hazards since the last plan was adopted, local capabilities to address the impacts of a future disaster and today's mitigation actions to lessen the impact of future hazard events when they happen. Countywide information and information specific to each city is included.

The McLean County Hazard Mitigation Plan is funded in part by a grant from FEMA (75%), funding from the State of North Dakota (10%) and a contribution by McLean County (10%). The county's percentage will be from in-kind contributions from the hours the county and city invest in the project development.

On this website you can review the natural and technological/human-caused threats faced by your city and the unincorporated areas of the county, identify problem/ project areas, take a survey, and locate upcoming meetings. Plan drafts will be posted as they are developed.

Check back for meeting dates. 

Your input is important and appreciated.

Questions or comments can be submitted thru this website.